Harjeet wins upcoming player of the year award

Kurali lad Harjeet Singh has won the Jugraj Singh upcoming player of the year award (U-21) during the Hockey India (HI) Annual Awards in Bengaluru on Saturday.
Singh also won the individual achievement award for scoring a goal on his debut.
Singh said, “I am very happy to win this award. I will try to live up to the expectations of my seniors and coaches. This award will motivate me to work harder and achieve more laurels for my country and my family.” Singh led the Indian side which trounced Pakistan in the Junior Asia Cup last year.
The winning members of the Junior Asia Cup hockey team were awarded a cash prize of Rs.1 lakh each.
Vikas Dahiya, the winner of the goalkeeper of the tournament award, was awarded a cash prize of Rs.1 lakh. Harmanpreet Singh, the highest goalscorer of the tournament, was also rewarded during the function.
Chandigarh Football and Hockey Academy (CFHA) product Dharamvir Singh, Kothajit Singh, Birendra Lakra and Sushila Chanu were rewarded for completing the 100-match milestone. All of them were presented with a cheque of Rs 50,000 and a trophy each.
Gurbaj Singh and VR Raghunath were awarded for turning out in India colours for the 200th time and were presented with a cheque of Rs One lakh each along with a trophy.
The Jaman Lal Sharma award for invaluable contribution in hockey was given to coach Baldev Singh. The Baljit Singh goalkeeper of the year award was given to Hisar goalie Savita Punia. Ritu Rani bagged the Ajit Pal Singh midfielder of the year award. The Dhanraj Pillay forward of the year award was bagged by Shahbad striker Rani.